Savasana – A Pose Common To All Yoga Types


After making the decision to start doing yoga, it can be a little intimidating to actually choose which type you would like to practice. There are many different types of yoga, all with different types of goals, procedures, and even lifestyles. One of the poses common to all yoga types is savasana, also called “corpse pose.” Although it just looks like lying down on the floor, it is actually quite challenging.


Ananda yoga

This type of yoga is excellent for beginner yoga practitioners who may not be in the best physical shape. Ananda yoga focuses on easier postures, proper body alignment, and correct breathing. By choosing this type of yoga a new practitioner can feel comfortable that they will not be asked to do yoga poses that are too difficult for them. It is a safe way to begin to learn yoga. It is often used as a stepping-stone to other types of yoga.

Ashtanga yoga

Ashtanga yoga is considerably more difficult than most types of yoga. It incorporates physically difficult positions which progress in difficulty. These positions are intended to get the body sweating in order to detoxify and to allow the body to become light and athletic. This yoga type is not suited for beginners. It also requires superior strength and balance. The savasana pose can still be used, but is not as suitable for practicing directly after energetic exercises like this one.

Ashtanga yoga

Bikram yoga

This is the only yoga style that utilizes a heated environment in order to get the body sweating. Much like Ashtanga yoga, Bikram yoga is focused on physically demanding positions which work all aspects of the body. Strength, flexibility, cardiovascular strength, and weight loss are all stressed during Bikram yoga. Because of the intense heat, it can be dangerous. Always properly hydrate an hour or two before a Bikram yoga session.

You may also like  Trying Yoga At Work

Hatha yoga

Hatha yoga is excellent for beginners because it incorporates all different styles of yoga. This style of yoga focuses on meditation, which allows the participant to manage stress. Hatha yoga is performed slowly and with more focus on meditation than on getting the poses completely correct. This type of yoga has been used as a sort of therapy. It is very relaxing while not be overly physical.

Hatha yoga

Iyengar yoga

Iyengar yoga is an advanced form of yoga which utilizes precise yoga poses and deliberate movements. In this form of yoga, poses are held for longer periods of time and with slow transitions to new poses. Less-flexible or injured yoga participants are encouraged to use care and if necessary, props, in this style. It is generally considered more of an intermediate to advanced style of yoga. It is not recommended for beginners.

Kripalu yoga

This yoga form is broken down into three major stages, which can make it easier for a beginner to get into. The first stage of Kripalu is used to learn each of the poses and to find out how well your body can move into these poses. The second stage focuses on holding the poses for increasing amounts of time while focusing on inner stresses. The ultimate goal, and the third stage, of Kripalu yoga is a state in which the participant moves through the different poses unconsciously while releasing their inner stress. This is an excellent stepping stone to more advanced yoga as well.

Sivananda yoga

Sivananda yoga is a traditional type of yoga. This type of yoga focuses on moving through different positions while focusing on breathing to enhance relaxation and fitness. During Sivananda yoga chanting is also conducted in order to increase the amount of stress that is released. Sivananda yoga also incorporates dietary restrictions, making it more of a lifestyle choice than an exercise routine. This type of yoga has devout followers.

You may also like  10 Yoga Moves To Energize Your Morning

Sivananda yoga

Choosing a type of yoga to practice is an extremely important decision. Not only will choosing the correct type of yoga determine what type of experience you will have, but it will also determine the effects yoga will have on your body. By choosing a more physically demanding aspect of yoga you can focus on getting physically fit over releasing stress and meditating. Choosing a slower, more deliberate, type of yoga will allow a beginner to focus more on the meditative aspect of yoga. The savasana pose can be used irrespective of the kind of yoga you practice.

Share This
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Linkedin
Share On Pinterest
Share On Reddit

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons